planting your own garden?

As requested, this year we have a small selection of beautiful plants for sale. All of the vegetable starters are grown by two local, organic farmers who produce top quality veggies and use beautiful earth and compost for everything they do. The perennials and other odds and ends are grown by me.

All plants will be available on Saturday, June 11 at the veg stall.

I used to start my own plants – with grow lights, on windowsills, anywhere, and then move them around according to where there was light and warmth. What a palava. Then, last year, I decided to ask a farmer friend to start some of my plants. What a difference! The plants were far superior in terms of their hardiness and health and, most obviously, the abundance of fruit they produced. I’ll never go back. Well, maybe if I have my own greenhouse because I do love the nurturing process from seed to adult.

Here’s what I have right now (I may have more on June 11):

Sweet Peppers: Banana and Super Shepherd (big green or leave it till it matures to red.
Tomatoes:
Cherry: Sweet Gold and Sweet William
Medium Size: Ultra Girl, Sweet Chelsea
Paste: Veeroma
Large Red and White:  Ultra Boy and Lemon Boy
Other: Tomatillo, Ground Cherry
Certified Organic Seed Potatoes:  Red Chieftain, Russian Blue, Hertha and Sieglinde.
Kale: Red Russian
Edible flowers or herbs or just a pretty perennial: garlic chives, rudbeckia, echinacia, borage, tansy, corn flower and calendula
Winter Squash: Acorn, Buttercup, Sweet Dumpling, Delicata, Sweet Mama, Butternut, Kabocha
Summer Squash: green and yellow zucchini type
Cucumber: long, straight, english and for pickling

Prices:
Tomatoes and Peppers: $4.00
Kale: $2.50
Squash and Cucumber: $3.50
Potatoes: $0.50
Herbs, Edible Flowers, Perennials: $2.50 or $2 when you buy 3 or more (per person)

All plants are local and organic. Please remember, first come, first served!

This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.